Wayzata Service Unit Header
Program - Daisy Girl Scouts

Program »  Recognitions for Girls » Religious Awards

New Resources from P.R.A.Y.  
Girl Scouts are encouraged to earn the religious recognition of their faith. Here are some resources to help promote religious recognitions:
  • Visit our Girl Scout” page.  Find an up-to-date listing of religious recognitions by faith and browse through our handouts and PowerPoint presentations
  • Visit the Learning Center on the P.R.A.Y. Website to view videos on the P.R.A.Y. curriculum (for Protestant and Independent Christian churches). Currently there are 3 presentations:
    • Ten things to know about the P.R.A.Y. program
    • P.R.A.Y. programs as Evangelism
    • P.R.A.Y. program Summaries
  • These presentations are geared for churches and adults who want to learn about the P.R.A.Y. program and the opportunities for evangelism and membership outreach. Future plans include kid-friendly presentations as well as in depth presentations on each of the four programs

What are religious awards?

Religious awards are programs created by the various religious groups to encourage girls to grow stronger in their faith. All religious awards have been created by the religious groups themselves, not by the Girl Scouts of the U.S.A. The "Interfaith Quick Reference Chart" (Page 1, Page 2) lists the religious programs currently available and who to contact for more information. These programs are recognized by the Girl Scouts of the U.S.A., and the recognitions may be worn on the official uniform, but each religious organization develops and administers its own program.

I have a troop with girls of different faiths. How can I include the religious awards programs for my troop?

Religious awards programs should be presented to the Girl Scouts and their families as an optional program for them to complete through their religious organization. Religious instruction should always come from the religious organization, not from the troop leader. Parents need to be informed of these programs and told where to get the information for their particular faith.

Why doesn't my religious institution know about the religious awards?

Although the religious awards have been created by the religious bodies at the national level, the local religious institution may not be fully aware of these programs. It may be helpful to write for more information or even obtain a copy of the curriculum to give to your religious leader. See the “Interfaith Quick Reference Chart” (Page 1, Page 2) for a complete listing of addresses.

If the religious awards program for my faith has more than one level (for the different grade levels), may my child earn all of these recognitions?

Yes. Girls and young women can earn all levels of their religious awards program. However, they must be in the appropriate age/grade level according to program guidelines when they start and complete each level. They may not go backwards and earn younger programs.

Do the girls and young women have to belong to a religious institution?

It depends on the religion. Please check the eligibility requirements for your particular religious program.

Do boys and girls participate in the same program?

It depends on the religion. Some religions have created programs that are used by both boys and girls. Other religions have created separate programs for members of separate youth agencies (i.e. Boy Scouts of America, Girl Scouts of the U.S.A., and Camp Fire USA). Please check the specific eligibility requirements for each religious award program.

Who may serve as counselor?

It depends on the program. Some programs require clergy to serve as counselor, others allow a parent or family member.

How long does it take to complete a program?

It depends on the program. Some may be completed in three or four months, others longer.

How do I order the recognition items?

Each religious program has its own award. These awards come from different places and require submission of different information.  Follow the instructions in your award booklet. These awards are not available in your local council store!

How is the award presented?

The award should be presented in a meaningful ceremony, preferably in the girl's religious institution. Some awards come with a sample presentation ceremony.

Where is the recognition worn on the uniform?

Girl Scouts may wear the appropriate level religious award either on the badge sash below the membership stars, or on the right side of the uniform level with the membership pin.

What are the adult recognitions?

The adult recognitions are by nomination only: they are honors given to worthy adults for their outstanding service to youth both through their religious institution and Girl Scouting. Recipients of these awards are unaware that they are being nominated: an outside party must nominate them to receive an award by submitting the required application, letters of recommendation, and resume. Please check eligibility requirements for specific awards. See the "Interfaith Quick Reference Chart" (Page 1, Page 2) for a complete listing of addresses.

How do I get started?

Learn how to get started on religious recognitions.

For more information, visit Programs of Religious Activities with Youth (P.R.A.Y.) or the Girl Scouts area of P.R.A.Y.'s Web site. You also can contact our Religious Recognition Coordinator.

back to top


Tiny Flower